We’re All Mad Here

I am a bad blogger and, even worse, a bad sock wearer. I have been looking for another job as of late and job interviews do not lend to interesting leg wear. Black trouser socks are way more boring than they sound. I promise to be better. I have two road trips coming up this week, which will give me a chance to *finally* (and incredibly belatedly) show off the Holy Grail Socks and be effusive to the point of being rabid about Artisan Socks who procured them for me.

Today I took my socks on an adventure. I’ve purchased quite a few lately so it was hard to choose. Since I’ve been going a bit stir crazy I decided the busier the better. That’s how the Poker Suit Acrylic Knee Highs ended up alternately at the mall, at a pub, at CVS, and on a street that is infamous for an urban legend. No worries. I didn’t photograph them at all those places. CVS frowns on sock photography apparently.

These socks were incredibly comfortable. I had expected with the design they would bind but I had absolutely no issues. They stayed up comfortably and are very vibrant.

At The Mall

Let's Go To The Mall...TODAY!

Curiouser And Curiouser

A Singular View

These very much reminded me of Alice in Wonderland so I also wore my Untamed Menagerie Curiouser and Curiouser necklace.

I finished the look with Morgana Cryptoria lip balm in Countess Bathory.  I do love a good red lip.

As for the adventure it was fun. My very favorite part was a quick stop at Carey Place. I had been telling some non-Okie friends about the place and the ‘Hatchet House’ but couldn’t for the life of me find any pictures online. Well, now there will be some.

A quick overview of this urban legend as it was told to me. Carey was supposedly a young neighborhood girl who was kidnapped from Gatewood Elementary, which lies at the very end of Carey Place the street. She lived on Carey Place in a house with plain shutters. Carey was killed by a maniac with a hatchet and then  drug up her own driveway and left on the front porch. The next morning her parents found her and mysteriously hatchets had been carved in all the shutters. The scene was so bloody they could not clean it up, so they painted the porch and the driveway red.

There is absolutely no evidence that this ever happened, but yet the house is there and Carey Place as a neighborhood is very odd. It’s a narrow street which can only accommodate one vehicle. It’s eerily quite and the vibe there doesn’t match the surrounding area. It’s a favorite place for people all over the city to go Trick or Treat during Halloween.  You can see the neighborhood here and almost feel the 70’s horror vibe through the jpeg.

Here are a few quick shots of the ‘Hatchet House’.

And now that I’ve thoroughly creeped you out I’ll give you this. Proof that my socks are better than your socks. My socks inspired an eye shadow. It’s called Danger Sox and it’s by Evil Shades and it’s red and I love it.

Danger Sox!!!

My socks? Better than yours.

Poker Suit Acrylic Knee High by Leg Avenue purchased at Sock Dreams.

About FrancesDanger

An enigma, wrapped in a cypher, smothered in secret sauce. View all posts by FrancesDanger

3 responses to “We’re All Mad Here

  • Monday Morning Blahg

    […] makes me feel bad about mine. Wendi the makeup Zombie is baking! No.. wait. My Socks Are Better says that We’re all mad here. And that’s fine by me, as long as I can GET ME THOSE SOCKS. I don’t even like the base […]

  • Heather (@MissJupiter1957)

    Those socks are awesome! They do evoke an AIWL feel. I have an OTK (one of my very few pairs that actually have more room in the lower thigh part, so they don’t always automatically roll down like most) pair with dark pink & light pink horizontal stripes, with the Cheshire Cat peeking out just to the outer side & below the knee,

    A gorgeous red eyeshadow with neither carmine, nor Red #40? *&* by Evil Shades? *&* named after one of my favorite bloggers? Yes, pleez! I can haz Danger Sox?! *sneaks over to ES LD sale*

  • Amanda

    I am going to TRY to wear Danger Sox today. I say try, because red es hates me as much as it loves you. But it’s so pretty!

Sock it to me!

